Stronger Than You Seem

…there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. but the most important thing is, even if we’re apart. I’ll always be with you. [sic] – Pooh Bear

Quick Personal Story: I was racing down the sidewalk on my bright blue stingray. Panic flushed through my veins when I saw a tree root that cracked and raised the cement in front of me. I hit my brakes, but not in time. My skinny eight-year-old body sailed over the handle bars like a rag doll. I was scraped up with some deep gashes from head to toe.

Our Little House on Chapel

I cried and limped my way home just down the block. We lived in a “fixer upper” duplex that looked like a weathered dollhouse. My nanny Esther shoved a piece of pan dulce (sweet bread) into my mouth and hoisted me onto the washing machine with a red bottle of mercurochrome and rolls of gauze in hand. As the hot tears rolled down my face, the bread began to work its magic and allay my incessant trembling.

Photo Credit: TheEatenPath.com

Esther was wise. She knew I couldn’t watch her dress my seeping wounds and achieve any sense of calm. “Mira esa mariposa (check out that butterfly),” she redirected me to the large rectangular window that was the upper half of our laundry room door. As I looked outside and took a deep breath and fell into a trance. A voice that was not Esther’s whispered to me. “Look ahead. Imagine a few days from now. You’ll be laughing and playing with your sisters and climbing up your favorite fig tree.” I visualized the surreal merriment of Chinese jump rope and playing jacks with my friends, then peacefully lounging way up high on my sprawling tree. I lost connection with the stinging pain from the nasty gashes.

Little Girl Playing in Tree by Susan Savad

Lista Mija,” Esther’s translation of “You’re all set Baby” gently returned me to her comforting smile. The celestial voice and encouraging visions vanished like popping thought bubbles. I was patched up and ready to roll. I was astonished as I blinked my big brown eyes at Esther. She lifted me off the washing machine with a cuddly bear hug. My tenny shoes hit the ground… “Go Play!” I made a beeline for my BFF fig tree.

Throughout my childhood, I listened for angels. And often when they visited, they gave me protection, healing, tools, and indescribable gems. And just as Pooh and the good Lord said, “I’ll always be with you.” Through happy, fearful, challenging, extraordinary, prayerful, and special times …they are.

To this day, they inspire me to write. My children’s book series and blogs are two blissful places that I love sharing with others. My first book, Light Riders: The Power of the Orbis was published on December 21, 2011 and is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.com

About Light Stream

Casandra Moreno Lombera is an author, blogger, and Emmy nominated television producer who grew up in Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Denver communities. In junior high school, she promised her single mother that she would get straight A’s in order to graduate early and help her relocate to Aurora, Colorado. She did… and though women and Latinas were scarcely visible in television, she dreamed of a future in broadcast journalism. From an early age, Casandra wanted children and loved to write. She began her career in television (writing and reporting on camera) at the age of 18. She also began raising two very successful children as a single mom. Throughout her career, she became an award winning, television producer/program creator (receiving both the Imagen and Golden Eagle Awards); was executive producer of both public affairs and children’s programming at KWHY-TV, Channel 22; and worked on camera hosting public affairs talk shows for many years. More distinctive opportunities came her way, however her desire to write children’s books and to blaze new trails in the publishing world became irrepressible. Her dreams today focus on empowering youth, writing (particularly about God’s love for them), and raising money for the impoverished through organizations like Hope Worldwide https://www.hopeww.org/sslpage.aspx. Throughout her life, she has been passionate about hands-on giving to the community and has received many forms of appreciation (including a congressional commendation) for her efforts. She has served on several boards including Communications Bridge Institute, training disadvantaged youth in television production; St. Anne’s, building futures for at risk teens and unwed mothers; HOPE, Hispanas Organized for Political Equality; the American Diabetes Association fund raising committee; and the Consumer Advisory Committee for the California Contractors State Licensing Board. Casandra is also a recipient of La Opinion’s 2012 Mujeres Destacadas (Exceptional Women) Award. She is completely smitten with her husband, two children, and four grand babies who inspired Light Riders. Follow her @casandratweets and @Lightersbook on Twitter. Her blog is at http://www.shewentthere.wordpress.com. Direct Contact: Lightridersbook@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Blogging, Childhood, Education, Entertainment, Family, Healing, Health, Kids, Nature, Prose, Spanish, Spiritual, Trees, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Stronger Than You Seem

  1. I absolutely agree with you that God is always with us. My faith in God is what gives me the energy to make a positive contribution to my family, work, and community. Amazing post! 🙂

  2. bohemianbabushka says:

    I felt happy shivers when you mentioned the caring voices. I’ve only heard them distinctly twice in my life but it was enough to know we are not alone. BB2U and continued success in your path of light.

  3. An amazing story! God (Universe) is so great.

  4. Marissa says:

    You brought to mind the sound of my tennys against the washing machine when my Tia sat me up there to fixed a scraped knee. There’s nothing like pan dulce and hot chocolate at the kitchen table. Makes me homesick for those simpler days of childhood.
    Marissa

  5. Chica Cherie says:

    Ahhh, the simple days of childhood. My how quickly that time flew by. Great story.

    xoxo
    Cherrie
    http://www.chicacherrie.com

  6. Beautifully written, Casandra. My mama always told me angels walked beside me and I (still) believe they walk beside all of us….if we believe. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Sujeiry says:

    Beautiful story and congrats on being published!

  8. Michael Snow says:

    I did not see a contact link. If you would be interested in reviewing Oh Holy Night: The Peace of 1914, I would be glad to send you the pdf. This is a reflection on the Christmas truce, an inspiring event that can point others to Christ.
    It is on amazon and b and n. Contact link on my website; I don’t use the sign -in address here much.

Leave a Reply

