Talk to the One Who Loves You

Three Healing Minutes

Multitasking Mensa

Denial is one of my witless coping tools when I get sick. “How’s that workin’ for you?” Dr. Phil would ask. Well, today it kicked my butt, doc. Still, the humiliation I brought upon myself had to lead to some kind of inspiration. So God said, “Now that you’re done agonizing, share your shame, and give others a good laugh.” “You’re right, sniff, sniff… thank you God. I was way overdue on my posting anyway.” But, if I sound like a complete loon, I plead SINUS INFECTION!

11:00 a.m., yesterday — “Babe, will you go to the Vitamin Shoppe and pick up a supplement for me?” Devoted husband takes off, returns with an herbal treatment, and leaves for work. I had already viewed the ingredients online before sending him, but, was I thorough? No! Again, I plead sinus infection, grr. Upon further examination of the box, I find that it has 7.5 mg of eucalyptus. Online sources don’t agree with that dosage and neither do I. Shoot! I’m not taking it. In the grand scheme of things, I can’t remember the last time I took a nap. I was feeling so cruddy and frustrated that I decided to crawl back into bed. Hours later, I decided to drive my silly self to the Vitamin Shoppe to exchange the remedy. Not smart in my  dull condition. Ha, ha, I’m not in my right mind; I just think I am. Got my keys, cell phone, return item with receipt, wallet… oh, let me grab the trash while I’m at it. The dumpster is on my way to the car.

8:00 p.m., walking to the dumpster next to my garage — Oh no, where’s my garage door clicker? I dump the trash (in the industrial sized dumpster) and head back home for my clicker. Locking the front door and holding my cell phone, check; garage door opener clipped on, check; car keys, check… Oh no, where is my return item? My blood runs cold. In the giant dumpster! Now I make an even bigger clod of myself. I call the complex’s evening maintenance guys who are mainly there for emergencies. Really?! I actually did that? I left a message. “Hello, can someone help me retrieve an item I accidentally threw in the dumpster?” What a doofus! I don’t even have a flashlight because we just moved here. Twenty minutes go by.  No one is coming or calling back. They’re probably still falling off of their little folding chairs laughing. I knew that a flashlight and some clothes hangers could save me, but, it boils down to calling my hubby before anyone else decides to throw more trash on top of mine, yikes!!! His warehouse is practically down the street, but, I absolutely hate to interrupt him while he’s working.  Big swallow. “Hello?” “Hi Babe, can you please come home and help me?” I feel like such a mensa (dummy in Spanish) recounting how I got here! It’s real quiet on the other end of the line. I suppose it’s no accident that my hubby was named after Ricky Ricardo. I don’t know if he’s trying not to laugh or go off.  “Ok, I’ll be right there.” I wait and guard the stinky dumpster in the dark.

You can be as organized as the Red Cross, but, when you don’t know when to switch off the “I can do it all by myself” ego, there’s a dummy in the driver’s seat. Worse things can happen! Plus, underestimating the effects of having germy inflammation oozing so close to your judgement center lacks intelligence. Most of the time, sick means easily distracted and mush for brains (no question if your medicated). In the end, it took my gracious hubby about ten seconds to collect the bag for me. Clearly God didn’t want my goosey headlights on the road last night. How very good of him to expose my dimmed down marbles before I could do any serious damage to me, my car, or someone else! Moral of the story: Rethink your perception of competence. Wisdom is proactive and humbly asks for help. After all, isn’t that what great leaders do? Baking cookies for my new neighbors and the maintenance guys a.s.a.p.

About Light Stream

Casandra Moreno Lombera is an author, blogger, and Emmy nominated television producer who grew up in Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Denver communities. In junior high school, she promised her single mother that she would get straight A’s in order to graduate early and help her relocate to Aurora, Colorado. She did… and though women and Latinas were scarcely visible in television, she dreamed of a future in broadcast journalism. From an early age, Casandra wanted children and loved to write. She began her career in television (writing and reporting on camera) at the age of 18. She also began raising two very successful children as a single mom. Throughout her career, she became an award winning, television producer/program creator (receiving both the Imagen and Golden Eagle Awards); was executive producer of both public affairs and children’s programming at KWHY-TV, Channel 22; and worked on camera hosting public affairs talk shows for many years. More distinctive opportunities came her way, however her desire to write children’s books and to blaze new trails in the publishing world became irrepressible. Her dreams today focus on empowering youth, writing (particularly about God’s love for them), and raising money for the impoverished through organizations like Hope Worldwide https://www.hopeww.org/sslpage.aspx. Throughout her life, she has been passionate about hands-on giving to the community and has received many forms of appreciation (including a congressional commendation) for her efforts. She has served on several boards including Communications Bridge Institute, training disadvantaged youth in television production; St. Anne’s, building futures for at risk teens and unwed mothers; HOPE, Hispanas Organized for Political Equality; the American Diabetes Association fund raising committee; and the Consumer Advisory Committee for the California Contractors State Licensing Board. Casandra is also a recipient of La Opinion’s 2012 Mujeres Destacadas (Exceptional Women) Award. She is completely smitten with her husband, two children, and four grand babies who inspired Light Riders. Follow her @casandratweets and @Lightersbook on Twitter. Her blog is at http://www.shewentthere.wordpress.com. Direct Contact: Lightridersbook@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Education, Entertainment, Free, music, Organic, Shopping, Spiritual, Women. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Talk to the One Who Loves You

  1. Elia says:

    This is so tranquil and soothing. Your voice is just right. Beautiful, Alpha Girl!

  2. Cyndie Soto says:

    Really enjoyed your meditation and I agree you have a great voice for it. Sorry you aren’t feeling well, but like turning lemons into lemonade you turn your illness into medication. Great job! You should make more of these, (maybe next time without getting sick first), ❤

  3. Mom says:

    Loved it mija,!!!! but your talent for writing and a good sense of humor was manifested at a very early age. Remember your car commercial with the real “bucket seats”. Keep using your gift to bring joy to others as you make the Lord smile as well. Love you sooooo much. Mom

    • LOL, Thank you Mom! You were the main one I wanted to make laugh my whole life because you were my favorite inspiration : ) If I make you laugh now, you and the Lord can take all the credit for carving me out the way you did. Thank you for always supporting my writing and imagination on overdrive. Love you!!!

  4. Loved the video. Noah loved it too. He named every slide (flower, moon, little moon, big moon, big sun, owl, etc). Sorry to hear your sick – love your writing, i can picture it so well.

  5. Aurora says:

    Too funny.! Thanks for sharing. Sounds like something I would have done, except I would have been too embarrassed to call maintenance or my husband for help. I would have been in the dumpster crying out for help to get out.

  6. rochelle says:

    Thanks for the post. I enjoyed reading it and your meditation!

  7. Lexi says:

    Great video Mom! I definitely think the imagery helps the scriptures sink in. Also-Im glad Rick jumped in the dumpster for you and to Rick I say: You’re a patient man. lol

  8. Very inspirational, thank you. Stunning pictures aswel.

Leave a Reply

